Database Search Results: O

Find databases starting with the letter:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

OED Online
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources. Complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition.

(more info)
Official Museum Directory Provides the most accurate and up-to-date information on America's museums. Currently lists over 14,400 institutions of every size and type in all 50 states, including museums, houses/sites, planetariums, science-technology centers, art galleries/centers, aquariums and zoological parks. Information includes size, budget information, personnel, subject concentration, annual attendance and house publications. NOTE: This is a Loyola subscription database. Limited to ONE user at a time. LUC users do not need to log in.
(more info)
Old Testament Abstracts Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included.
(more info)
OmniFile Full Text Select Provides access to full text articles, images, abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals contained in the following six Wilson full text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Reader's Guide, Social Sciences & Business.
(more info)
Opposing Viewpoints In Context Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays 5,000+ topic overviews More than 300 primary source documents 300 biographies of social activists and reformers More than 775 court-case overviews 5 million periodical articles Nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs Nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search Thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline
(more info)
Oral History Online (Alexander Street Press) Oral History Online provides access to more than 2,700 collections. It contains pointers to over 4,200 audio and video files and almost 19,000 bibliographic records.
(more info)
Oxford Art Online (Grove) Comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, (34 vols) The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Including ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles.
(more info)
Oxford Biblical Studies Oxford Biblical Studies contains Nineteen Bible texts, the deuterocanonical collections, Concordances, and the Oxford Bible Commentary. There are over 6,000 A-Z entries and chapters from Oxford references, including images and maps of the biblical world.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American Studies Ever since the national rise of "Black Studies" during the second half of the twentieth century, this field has focused on the distinctive individuals, places, events, concepts, and circumstances of African American history from the seventeenth century to the present -- from the early national period, when New World Africans first reckoned with Enlightenment preconceptions of race, to the new millennium, when African Americans continue to negotiate the conditions of their lives in the United States. African American Studies is now a vibrant, complex, and growing field for the intellectual and curricular mission of centers, institutes, programs, and departments at colleges and universities across the country. Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies represents another step in the field's institutional progress. Regularly updated and expanded with new content, the module will provide bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies -- culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: American Literature Oxford Bibliographies in American Literature provides scholarly examination of American literature including postmodern theory to debates about the canon, slave narratives, and comic books. The study of literature invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and women’s studies making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about related areas of study. Researchers and practitioners can access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources and tools to help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material that is reliable and directly relevant to their inquiries.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship. The entries highlight old and new terms including classic terms within the field and relatively new ones that are still gaining public acceptance. By placing these new concepts in conversation with older ones this guide provides a complete overview of the discipline's intellectual trajectory.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic Histories Atlantic history is a developing field of historical inquiry that operates upon assumptions about how to understand the nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between 1492 and the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Biblical Studies The study of the Bible is a technical and multifaceted field, demanding expertise in areas ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminist studies, philosophy, and theology. This resource provides students and scholars with a new discoveries, methodologies, and perspectives in an effort to better interpret the Bible.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: British and Irish Literature This resource invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, political science, and philosophy. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources with tools that can help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics Classical Studies has access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources. Oxford Bibliographies in Classics provides students and scholars with a reliable resources, and helpful search tools to find the right sources in all media.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Criminology As a discipline which examines crime as a social phenomenon, criminology is a constantly changing and expanding field. Because of its broad, interdisciplinary nature, a vast amount of scholarship and research already exists in addition to a regular influx of new research and material. Oxford Bibliographies in Criminology is a much-needed online guide to the essential literature across the various subfields of criminology. It combines the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and a traditional bibliography in a style tailored to meet the needs of today’s online researchers. Each article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways to the most important works for virtually all areas of criminology.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies Oxford's Medieval Studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. From history to literature, from art to archaeology, from religion to gender studies, this resource contains several primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Philosophy Selected, annotated bibliographies, arranged by broad topic (e.g. epistemology, free will) and major philosopher. Each section includes an introductory essay written by a scholar.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation is a resource, spanning the 14th through 17th centuries. This resource is designed to provide guidance with list citations, reference tools and traditional bibliographies.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Social Work Oxford Bibliographies Online in Social Work provides bibliographic articles on the most recent theories, research, discoveries, and interpretations in the field. Topics include family policy, social work research methods, divorce, human trafficking, juvenile justice and more.
(more info)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Sociology Sociology, the study of society and human behavior, is a highly active discipline which is constantly changing and expanding. Because of the broad, extensive nature of sociology, a vast amount of scholarship and research already exists besides the regular influx of new material.With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. In this situation what is most needed is expert guidance. Oxford Bibliographies in Sociology is designed to provide just this sort of authoritative guidance. In contrast to print bibliographies and electronic indexes that simply list citations, this innovative online reference tool will combine the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and the best features of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people do research online.
(more info)
Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th Ed The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. The approach is interdisciplinary: all areas, regions, and cultures are represented beyond the core areas of Greece and Rome. As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, and ecology. The text is written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated.
(more info)
Oxford Companion to the Book Covers the book, broadly conceived, throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Includes bibliography, palaeography, printing, editing, textual criticism, collecting, libraries and ebooks.
(more info)
Oxford Constitutions of the World
Oxford Constitutions of the World (OCW) contains translated English versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual jurisdictional commentaries, and supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical versions of constitutions, and amendment Acts/Laws.

NOTE: We are phasing out this resource. HEINonline offers comparable content. The link below will now refer you to HEINonline.

(more info)
Oxford Dictionaries Fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials in the following language combinations: English to Spanish, Italian, French, and German.
(more info)
Oxford Dictionaries Fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials in the following language combinations: English to Spanish, Italian, French, and German.
(more info)
Oxford Dictionary of African Biography Provides a comprehensive overview of the lives of the men and women who shaped Africa’s history. Unprecedented in scale, DAB covers the whole continent from Tunisia to South Africa, from Sierra Leone to Somalia. It also encompasses the full scope of history from Queen Hatsheput of Egypt (1490–1468 BCE) and Hannibal, the military commander and strategist of Carthage (243–183 BCE), to Kwame Nkrumah of Ghana (1909–1972), Miriam Makeba, and Nelson Mandela of South Africa (b. 1918). Subjects are drawn from all walks of life, including philosophers, politicians, activists, entertainers, scholars, poets, scientists, religious figures, kings, and everyday people.
(more info)
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages Covers all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought A comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora including major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion, along with historical figures and social movements.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars covering Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature Includes feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor. With coverage ranging from accounting and advertising to zoning and zoos.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States Over 900 A-to-Z articles of the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology Examines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times. Provides an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States between 500 C.E. to 1500.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Social Work The 20th edition covers demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma & disaster.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible Books of the Bible provides a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. The Encyclopedia contains almost 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World This resource provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance Provides information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. Entries range from short definitions of terms to lengthy considerations of genres and movements.
(more info)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History The definitive reference work for women in history, with over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
(more info)
Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED) The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources. Complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition.
(more info)
Oxford Handbooks Online: Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, and Religion Oxford Handbooks Online is a collection of 14 subject areas. We currently have access to Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice (selective content), History, Philosophy, and Religion. The Handbook series contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Each Handbook offers introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research.
(more info)
Oxford History of Western Music ONLINE Includes the full text from the Oxford History of Western Music (OUP 2009) with notes, bibliographies, and further readings for all 69 chapters. Also includes more than 1,700 editorially selected links to relevant entries in Grove Music Online.
(more info)
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History An international and interdisciplinary work which covers legal history from ancient to modern times. Offers a clear background on geographically distinctive laws, their origins, and their consequences throughout world history.
(more info)
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace Offers a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, theories, and much more.
(more info)
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Fully searchable, comprehensive dictionaries and unique study materials in the following languages: French, German, Italian, Spanish.
(more info)
Oxford Music Online (formerly Grove) Oxford Music Online comprises updated versions of previous Grove publications as well as hundreds of articles commissioned specifically for the online edition. Titles include: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (29 volumes, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (3 volumes, 2002), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes, 1992), The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1 volume, 1994), The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (8 volumes, 2013), The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (5 volumes, 2014).
(more info)
Oxford Reference Online Over 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
(more info)
Oxford Research Encyclopedia: African History The ORE provides students and scholars with vetted, reliable, historiography-informed, and regularly updated online reference material in all areas of African history.
(more info)
Oxford Research Encyclopedia: American History The ORE provides students and scholars with vetted, reliable, historiography-informed, and regularly updated online reference material in all areas of American history.
(more info)
Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Asian History The ORE provides students and scholars with vetted, reliable, historiography-informed, and regularly updated online reference material in all areas of Asian history.
(more info)
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online: New Oxford Shakespeare New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship.
(more info)
Oxford Scholarship Online Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is an online e-book library from Oxford University Press. OSO covers subjects across the humanities, economics and political sciences.
(more info)

chat loading...

Make a Gift